Broomfield Gun Defense Attorneys

Skilled Counsel to Effectively Fight Gun Charges in Broomfield, CO

Gun laws and weapons statutes in Colorado and the U.S. protect the right to buy, own, use, and carry certain firearms. Depending on the circumstances, however, the laws can be complicated—and, sometimes, even simple misunderstandings can result in serious, felony-level weapons charges.

If you or a loved one has been accused of firearm or weapons charges in Colorado, the lawyer representing you can make all the difference in the strength and success of your case.

To make sure you have a strong defense from the preliminary hearings through the resolution of your case, you need an experienced attorney—you need a Broomfield criminal defense lawyer at The Datz Law Firm, P.C.

Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers about your rights and defense options.

With decades of experience and a record of success, we have the knowledge and skills to effectively defend you against various types of misdemeanor and felony weapons charges.

Let us help you pursue your best defense options and navigate the road ahead so you can get through these challenging times.

What Are the Different Types of Weapons Charges in Colorado?

While weapons charges in Colorado can vary widely, the following table outlines some of the most common ones, along with the offense level and potential penalties upon conviction.

Charge Offense Jail or Prison Time Fines
Prohibited Use of Weapons Class 2 misdemeanor 3 to 12 months $250 to $5,000
Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon Class 2 misdemeanor 3 to 12 months $250 to $5,000
Possession of an Illegal Weapon Class 1 misdemeanor 6 to 18 months $500 to $5,000
Possession of a Defaced Firearm Class 1 misdemeanor 6 to 18 months $500 to $5,000
Defacing a Firearm Class 1 misdemeanor 6 to 18 months $500 to $5,000
Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon on School Grounds Class 6 felony 12 to 18 months $1,000 to $100,000
Possession of a Dangerous Weapon Class 5 felony 1 to 3 years $1,000 to $100,000
Illegal Discharge of a Firearm Class 5 felony 1 to 3 years $1,000 to $100,000
Unlawful Purchase of Firearms Class 4 felony 2 to 6 years $2,000 to $500,000

How Can I Defend Myself Against Weapons Charges in Colorado?

The best defense in these cases depends on the exact charges involved, as well as the available evidence and other factors. In general, however, some defense options can include arguing that:

  • The weapon belonged to someone else, and the accused didn’t know about it.
  • The weapon in question was found as a result of illegal search and seizure.
  • The weapon was planted on the accused individual.

Get the help you need determining your best defense against weapons charges by contacting The Datz Law Firm, P.C. Your freedom and future could depend on it.

Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers about your rights and legal options.

At The Datz Law Firm, P.C., our Broomfield criminal defense lawyers are known for providing superior, strategic defense representation, client-focused service, and personalized counsel. Whether you are facing weapons charges for a first or subsequent time, we are ready to provide the advocacy and service we would expect if we were in your shoes.

Let us help you resolve your sensitive legal issues so you can move on to a brighter future.

Violent Crimes

Attorneys

Jonathan-Datz-Sidebar-Link

Kelly-Toney-Sidebar-Link

Christopher-Estoll-Sidebar-Link