Broomfield Assault Defense Lawyer

Effective Defense Counsel for Misdemeanor & Felony Assault & Battery Charges

Assault and battery can bring serious charges and lasting penalties under Colorado. While heated situations can lead to assault and battery charges, so too can misunderstandings and many other circumstances. No matter why or when these charges are filed, however, having an experienced attorney on your side can be pivotal to the strength and success of a defense case.

At The Datz Law Firm, P.C., our Broomfield criminal defense lawyers have vast experience counseling clients through all types of assault and battery cases in Colorado. Known for our compassion, record of success, and tireless commitment to defending our clients, we are the team you can turn to when it’s time to present the strongest possible defense against assault and battery charges in Colorado.

Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers about your rights and defense options.

Whether you have been accused of assault for a first or subsequent time, we are ready to provide exceptional advocacy and personalized service while we work relentlessly to help you get through these challenging times.

How Does Colorado Law Define Assault & Battery?

Although assault and battery charges are often filed together, under Colorado law, these are distinct offenses. Specifically:

  • Assault is the act of intentionally and recklessly causing physical (bodily) harm to another person.
  • Battery, which is called “menacing” in Colorado, is the act of intentionally threatening serious bodily harm. The “threat” can include physical actions, verbal statements, and more.

Both assault and battery charges in Colorado may be filed as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the circumstances of the alleged offense and, in particular, whether:

  • A weapon was used during the alleged crime.
  • Anyone sustained bodily injury as a result of the alleged offense.
  • The accused individual has prior convictions for assault, battery, and/or other violent crimes.

What Are the Penalties for Assault & Battery in Colorado?

The following table shows the various penalties that can be imposed for different types and levels of assault and battery charges in Colorado.

Charge Classification Jail or Prison Time Fines
Menacing (battery) Class 3 misdemeanor Up to 6 months $50 to $75
Menacing with a Deadly Weapon Class 5 felony 1 to 3 years $1,000 to $100,000
Third Degree Assault Class 1 misdemeanor 6 to 18 months $500 to $5,000
Second Degree Assault Class 3 felony 12 years Up to $500,000
First Degree Assault Class 2 felony 24 years Up to $750,000

How Do I Fight Assault & Battery Charges in Colorado?

Contact a Broomfield assault and battery defense lawyer at The Datz Law Firm, P.C. We can investigate your case and identify your best defense options. Depending on the evidence and circumstances involved, it may be possible to:

  • Get certain evidence dismissed
  • Throw the credibility of your accuser(s) in question
  • Undermine the prosecutors’ arguments
  • Get the charges reduced and/or thrown out

Remember, whether you are facing misdemeanor or felony assault and battery charges, you are innocent until proven guilty. With a Broomfield criminal defense lawyer at The Datz Law Firm, P.C. in your corner, you can be confident that you will have strategic defense repressentation throughout your case.

Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers about your rights and legal options.

As former district attorneys, our Broomfield violent crime defense lawyers know how prosecutors approach and argue these cases—and we know how to disarm their arguments while providing superior defense representation. That makes us highly effective at defending clients in various types of assault and battery cases.

To find out more about your best defense options and how we can help you, simply contact The Datz Law Firm, P.C. today.

Violent Crimes

Attorneys

Jonathan-Datz-Sidebar-Link

Kelly-Toney-Sidebar-Link

Christopher-Estoll-Sidebar-Link