Broomfield Sexual Assault Attorneys

Effective Representation & Exceptional Counsel for Various Types of Sexual Assault Cases

Sexual assault charges can throw your relationships, career, freedom, and future into jeopardy. When you have been accused of sexual assault, the sooner you contact The Datz Law Firm, P.C., the better. We can help you get through this challenging time, protecting your rights and providing strategic, effective defense representation every step of the way.

Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers about your rights and legal options.

Our Broomfield sexual assault lawyers are ready to help you resolve your legal issues and get through these challenging times so you can move on to a bright future.

How Is Sexual Assault Defined by Colorado Law?

Also referred to as rape, sexual assault is defined as the act of sexually penetrating another person without their consent. This can include sexual assault by deception, meaning someone poses as a spouse in order to commit the offense. It may also involve sexual penetration that occurs when the victim is incapacitated or inebriated beyond the point of being able to understand the situation and/or express consent.

What Are the Penalties for Sexual Assault in Colorado?

A conviction of sexual assault in Colorado can lead to various penalties, the severity of which depends on the circumstances of the case, the nature of the charges, and more.

The following table shares an overview of the penalties associated with different types of sexual assault charges in Colorado.

Charge Classification Jail or Prison Time Fines
Sexual assault without force Class 4 felony 2 to 8 years $2,000 to $500,000
Sexual assault by force or use of drugs Class 3 felony 4 to 16 years $3,000 to $750,000
Sexual assault on a child Class 4 felony 2 to 6 years $2,000 to $500,000
Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust Class 4 felony 2 to 6 years $2,000 to $500,000
Sexual assault by a psychotherapist on a client Class 1 misdemeanor to Class 4 felony Up to 24 mos. in jail (misdemeanor) or up to 8 years in prison (felony) Up to $5,000 (misdemeanor) or up to $500,000 (felony)

How Do I Defend Myself Against Sexual Assault Charges in Colorado?

Contact a Broomfield sexual assault defense lawyer at The Datz Law Firm, P.C. We can investigate your case, analyze the evidence, and help you identify your best options for fighting the charges. Depending on the specifics of your case, your defense options against sexual assault charges could include (and may not be limited to) arguing that:

  • No sex occurred.
  • The sex was between consenting adults.
  • The identity of the perpetrator has been mistaken.
  • The victim has made false allegations to get revenge, gain leverage in another court case, etc.

In the face of sexual assault, it’s essential to remember that you are innocent until proven guilty and the he-said-she-said nature of these cases may open up defense options. With our team your corner, you can be confident that you’ll have a strategic, effective defense throughout your case.

Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers about your rights and legal options.

Sex Crimes

Attorneys

Jonathan-Datz-Sidebar-Link

Kelly-Toney-Sidebar-Link

Christopher-Estoll-Sidebar-Link