Colorado’s Age of Consent
The Age of Consent in Colorado is 17
Only individuals who are 17 or older can consent to sex acts in the state of Colorado. While there can be some exceptions to this, generally, those younger than 17 are legally considered children in the eyes of the law.
At The Datz Law Firm, P.C., our Broomfield sex crimes lawyers are experienced at defending clients against various charges related to age of consent issues. Whether allegations of sexual assault on a child, statutory rape, or other sex crimes are made, we can help the accused protect their rights, craft a strategic defense, and fight for the best possible resolutions.
Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers and advice about your rights and case.
Our Broomfield sex crimes lawyers are ready to explain your options, resolve your legal issues, and help you get through these challenging times.
What Does Age of Consent Mean?
Age of consent refers to the age at which someone can legally consent to engaging in sexual acts. In Colorado, people 16 and younger can never provide legal consent in sexual situations (with the exceptions noted below). The intent of these laws is to protect minors.
What Are the Exceptions to Age of Consent Laws in Colorado?
Colorado law provides two exceptions to age of consent laws. These include the:
- Age exemption: This Romeo and Juliet law in Colorado provides that minors younger than 15 may legally consent to sex with partners who are no more than 4 years older than they are. Minors who are 15 or 16 can legally consent with partners who are no more than 10 years older.
- The marriage exemption: Legal spouses can consent to sex, regardless of age, according to Colorado law.
What Are the Penalties for Violating Age of Consent Laws in Colorado?
The penalties depend on the nature of the criminal charges filed when someone has been accused of violating Colorado age of consent laws. Commonly, these include charges of:
- Statutory rape as a class 1 misdemeanor: As an extraordinary risk crime in Colorado, these charges can be associated with harsher penalties even at the misdemeanor level. Generally, they are punishable by up to 24 months in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
- Statutory rape as a class 4 felony: These charges can be punishable by up to 8 years in prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
- Sexual assault on a child: As a felony sex crime, this offense can be charged as a class 3 or 4 felony, depending on the circumstances involved. In serious cases, these charges can be associated with up to 12 years in prison and up to $750,000 in fines.
Get More Answers & Strategic Defense Representation: Contact Us
If you or a loved one has been charged with a misdemeanor or felony sex crime, the sooner you contact a Broomfield sex crimes lawyer at The Datz Law Firm, P.C., the better. We can help you get through this challenging time, providing aggressive representation every step of the way.
Call (720) 879-1114 or email us for important answers about your rights and legal options.
Backed by extensive trial experience and a record of success, we are proud to offer fierce advocacy that’s tempered with compassion and personal service. We know that sex crimes charges can be frustrating, stressful, and overwhelming. That’s why we are committed to offering the advocacy and service we would expect if we were in your shoes.